I got two, babe.

We went back to the clinic on Friday for our 7 week ultrasound.

We arrived at the clinic and we were sent down to wait outside of one of the ultrasound rooms. A was feeling pretty good about everything, but of course, I was a nervous wreck. I was just worried that they weren’t going to see anything in the ultrasound and we were going to go home with news no one who has gone through the IVF process wants to hear.

Our amazing nurse came in and said hi and “Congratulations” to us. I still wasn’t buying the whole “yay you are pregnant” business until I saw a baby in there. One of the Fertility Dr’s came in the room to perform the ultrasound. He is very sweet, speaks quietly and you can tell he is very well liked by his colleagues in the clinic. We haven’t had much contact with this particular Dr. through our process, but I had heard such amazing things about him.

So… in went that cam and up on the screen was not 1, but 2 babies!!!!!!! I immediately saw that there were two sacs on the screen and the Dr. said – “well, we have two little passengers on board”. The tears started streaming down my face. I was in SHOCK! Twins! TWINS! Within seconds he was referring to twin A and twin B and I couldn’t stop shaking.”I’m pregnant with TWINS???????”

They couldn’t get a good read on Twin B as s/he was hiding and tucked away.  Both babies were measuring at 7 weeks 1 day and we saw the heartbeat of twin A which was magical. Next steps are to go back to the clinic next Wednesday for a follow-up ultrasound to see how twin b is doing.

So – here we are. Almost 1 year ago to the day, A was told he was “infertile” and we he would never have biological children of his own… and I am now pregnant with 2 babies. 2 babies made by us!

We are both still in shock right now, and I can honestly say that the news of even being pregnant in the first place hasn’t become real….. now throw in a twin pregnancy??? Holy shit!

All things aside, we are so lucky to have made it this far. So so lucky. I wouldn’t trade this feeling (combined with morning sickness) for anything in the world.

xo

 

3 thoughts on “I got two, babe.

  1. Daryl says:

    Wow! Congratulations!

  2. thefamilyvan says:

    This is the most amazing news! Two little J and As! Love!

  3. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment